14 Variants Of Christianity Essay example

Submitted By alissaaaxx
Words: 1096
Pages: 5

Variants of

 Worship


For Catholics worship is liturgical
(follows a set pattern or ritual) and it is sacramental (emphasis on the Sacrament the
Eucharist). The Eucharist or
Mass is the main form of worship.  Teachings

Drawn from both Scripture and the Tradition of the Church: the
Magisterium is the teaching authority of the Catholic Church.

Authority structure
It is hierarchical and structured and under the authority of the Pope.
There are also

All decision making authority resides in these ordained people all male and celibate.

The Catholic
Variant is divided into 8 Catholic

1. Roman
2. Armenian
3. Byzantine
4. Coptic
5. Ethiopian
6. Chaldean
7. Maronite
8. West


of the Eucharist

Catholics believe in the Real
Presence of Christ under the form of bread and wine.
The priest calls on the Holy Spirit to change the bread and wine into the body and blood of Christ .
This is called
The FORM of the bread and wine remain the same but the
SUBSTANCE changes – the inner
Reality changes. And so Christ is really present – not literally or physically as he was when alive.

Catholic: Understanding of

Catholics believe that faith and good deeds are necessary for salvation.

Jesus’s self-sacrificing love and death have brought salvation for everyone but each person needs to work for their own personal growth and transformation to become Christ-like.

Catholic: Mary and the Saints

Mary is the Mother of Jesus and the
Mother of God.

Strong tradition of prayer to Mary as the one who will intercede for the believer – that is, pray for them too:
Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death 

Prayers are addressed to the Saints too in the same way

Catholic: 7 Sacraments
Sacrament: a visible sign of God’s presence and action in the lives of believers.

7.Anointing of the Sick


Developed in the 11th Century

Brought about by a schism – a break with the Catholic Church

Result of disagreements esp with regard to The Filioque Clause in the Nicene Creed:
“… the Holy Spirit who proceeds from the Father and the Son” .
Those who disagreed with this statement in the Nicene Creed broke away

Called themselves ORTHODOX which means “correct teaching”

Orthodox Rites

Russian Orthodox
Serbian Orthodox

Orthodox Authority structure  The churches are self – governed and led by Patriarchs

But the Ecumenical Patriarch of
Constantinople is considered the spiritual leader

Only men may become priests

Priests may marry

Bishops must remain celibate

Sources of authority and teaching:
Bible and Holy Tradition

Orthodox Worship

Liturgical worship: follows a rituaL It is called the Divine Liturgy
They believe the bread and wine change and becomes the body and blood of Christ
This is called the Divine Mystery
(not transubstantiation)
They use icons in their liturgy
The liturgical celebration is often very long and uses incense
The liturgy is often wholly sung
Parts of the celebration are hidden from the view of the congregation - takes place behind the iconostasis (screen)

Anglicanism - also known as The
Church of England
 Developed in the 16th Century

It came into being through a separation from the Roman Church

Politics and theology were behind the separation from the Roman Church and the Pope

Separation initiated by Henry VIII who broke away from the authority of the
Pope and proclaimed himself head of the Church in England.

It was then influenced by the theology of the Protestant reformer Martin Luther

The Anglican Communion
Anglicans are divided into:
High Anglican: In beliefs and worship this group is similar to the Catholic