434V Week 2 Erikson Stages of Development Essay

Submitted By KMErickson1964
Words: 362
Pages: 2

Erikson's Stages of Development
Erikson’s Stages of Development
Stage|Ages|Basic Conflict|Summary|
1|Infancy1 to 2 years|Trust vs. Mistrust|The child, well - handled, nurtured, and loved, develops trust and security and a basic optimism. Badly handled, s/he becomes insecure and mistrustful. Important Event: Feeding|
2|Early Childhood 2 to 3 years|Autonomy (independence) vs. Shame & Doubt|The young child is learning to be independent. Success leads to feelings of autonomy, failure results in feelings of shame and doubt.Important Event: Toilet Training|
3|Preschool3 to 5 years|Initiative vs. Guilt|The child is acquiring new physical and mental skills, setting goals, and enjoying newfound talents, but must learn to control impulses. Success in this stage leads to a sense of purpose. Children who exert too much power experience disapproval, resulting in a sense of guilt. Important Event: Exploration|
4|School Age6 to 11 years|Competence vs. Inferiority|The child needs to cope with new social and academic demands. Success leads to a sense of competence, while failure results in feelings of inferiority. Important Event: School|
5|Adolescence12 to 18 years|Identity vs. Role Confusion|Teens need to develop a sense of self, and personal identity. Success leads to an ability to remain true to yourself, while failure results in role confusion and a weak sense of self.Important Event: Social Relationships|
6|Young Adulthood19 to 40 years|Intimacy vs. Isolation|Young adults need to form intimate, loving relationships with other people. Success leads to strong relationships, while failure results in