Essay about Buddhism and Calm Holy Man

Submitted By sandrimalko
Words: 686
Pages: 3

Historical development/Siddhartha
Siddhartha Gautama was born in 563 BCE in to the warrior caste as a Hindu, his mother Queen Maya was going to her fathers home when her entourage stopped at Lumbini Gardens where she gave birth to him. His father king Raja wanted him to be a ruler and in order to be free from choices outside the palace. He protected Siddhartha from seeing anything that would take him away from the palace. One day Siddhartha heard sounds and wondered what they were, so he went outside the palace. He saw death, sickness, old age, and a calm holy man. He asked his father what the caused all the suffering and his father did now answer. Siddhartha left his wife to find out what caused so many people to suffer. Siddhartha put on the robe of the simple holy man and the cloths of an ascetic. For 6 years he lived as a wondering ascetic, meditating and eating enough to stay alive. He found no answer in neither, his life in luxury or in the life of an ascetic, he discover that he had to find the Middle Path. He meditated under a Bodhi tree until he could find the answer, while in meditation for 49 days he had a spirited struggle with the evil god Mara. He was tempted by Mara the wisdom stealer who left one with: Ignorance and delusion, lust, discontent, sensuality, pride, greed, fear, self. After Siddhartha conquered the self, he reached enlightenment. Going back to his community (not the palace) he preached his first sermon at Deer Park to the 5 Ascetics who became his followers, the first monks.
4 Passing Sights: 1. The decrepit old man 2. Diseased man 3. Corpse 4. Calm Holy Man
3 marks of existence: 1. Anatta- meaning “no self” there is not ultimate reality within, no essence underlying existence, no eternal substratum that is truly real, enduring beyond the moment. The you that exists now is the result of a long sequence of change. 2. Anicca- impermanence – the self is real and unchanging, it too is an ongoing flow of thoughts, perception, fears and hopes. 3. Dukkha – suffering.
3 Jewels: the 3 jewels of Buddhism are: the Buddha, The dharma (buddhas teachings), and the sangha.
4 noble truths: 1. Life is filled with suffering. 2. The cause of suffering is desire. 3. To cease suffering one must cease desiring. 4. The path to end suffering is the Noble Eightfold path.
The Noble Eightfold Path: 1 right understanding. 2. Right thought. 3. Right speech. 4. Right conduct. 5. Right livelihood. 6. Right effort. 7. Right mindfulness. 8. Right concentration.
The 5 precepts: 1. I undertake the precept to refrain from destroying living creatures. 2. I undertake the precept to refrain from taking that,