Essay on Concert Report

Submitted By alvinapan
Words: 611
Pages: 3

NAME: Alvina Pan ENSEMBLE: Wind Ensemble
CONCERT: The Maestro's Anniversary - The Columbia Orchestra
On December 7th, 2013, I decided to volunteer at the Columbia Orchestra’s concert, and took the chance to listen to the professional group play. The whole orchestra had performed, but it featured solo pieces as well. In total they performed 3 arrangements. Johannes Brahms’ Symphony No. 3, Shulamit Ran’s Chicago Skyline, and Dmitri Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1. This performance took place in the Jim Rouse Theater, on Saturday December 7, 2013 at 7:30 p.m. It lasted till about 9:30. This concert is just one of many that the Columbia Orchestra has put on to fulfil their mission, which is to foster lifelong appreciation of, enthusiasm for, and participation in music. They continue to do this by providing the community with high-quality musical performances. This performance was also actually celebrating Jason Love's 15th Anniversary, who is the conductor of the orchestra. I think the overall performance was a complete success. The first piece they played was Israeli-American composer Shulamit Ran’s Chicago Skyline. It was portraying Chicago's magnificent architecture, and the piece was completely composed of brass and percussion. This piece was only around 7 minutes long, but had a long lasting impression. The tone and sounds by the brass were fantastic, even though it wasn’t a tonal piece at all. There was a lot of dissonance, and it was very intense. The second piece was actually a solo performed by the conductor, Jason love. He played the cello and I could tell that he put a lot of emotion into it; it was an amazing experience to watch him perform. The piece had 4 movements in total. Something I thought was interesting about this piece was that during the first movement, the same 4 note pattern was repeated over and over again. It didn’t get boring or repetitive though, it was kept interesting because each time it was constantly being changed musically. Sometimes it was the dynamics; there were many rises and falls. The tempo was also changing as well; Love had truly performed a masterpiece. The 3rd and final piece was Johannes Brahms’ Symphony No. 3, and this arrangement told a whole story. Movements completely contrasted each other; it had both sad and happy parts. I especially enjoyed the