Essay about Ecuador: Separation of Powers and Ecuador Official Website

Submitted By paulinamelchor6
Words: 753
Pages: 4

Ecuador is a land of rich cultural and historical attractions, all set within a backdrop of natural wonders, with landscapes that range between lush, tropical rainforests and glaciated volcanoes. Whether exploring the exquisite churches of the nation’s capital, Quito, or whether whitewater rafting down pristine tributaries of the great river Amazon, Ecuador is one of the most beautiful countries in South America.
Today populations of 15.74 million people live in the beautiful country of Ecuador located on the western south part of South America. The many beautiful attractions in Ecuador caused the population to elevate over the course of 193 years, when it first gained its independence from the Federation of Gran Colombia on May 22, 1822. Ecuador has a constructive climate that varies by region, due to differences in altitude and, to a degree, in proximity to the equator. The coastal lowlands to the west of Ecuador are typically warm with temperatures in the region of 77 °F. Before gaining their independence in 1822 Ecuador was occupied by Indian Tribes who were then overrun by the Incan Empire who arrived there in 1526 but weren’t colonized until 1534 in Quito. It wasn’t until 272 years later that the occupants decided to break away and form the very first rebellion from the Spanish rule, only to continued for 16 years, until finally being an independent country.
Ecuador's government today is deeply affected by its country's chaotic history. The Republic of Ecuador's political system is a representative democracy. The Government is divided into three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial. The executive branch is managed by the President of the Republic who is elected by popular vote along with a Vice-President. The President will choose the ministries and their functions that will comprise the executive branch. The President will also be appointed Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces. The current president of Ecuador is Rafael Vincente Correa Delgado and has been since January 15, 2007. Ecuador’s legislative branch passes laws, charges taxes, approves International Treaties, and an annual budget proposed by the Executive Branch. The members of the Legislative branch are elected in mid-party elections and represent one of Ecuador’s 21 provinces. Among these congressmen, one will be elected to be The President of the Congress. The occupation implies receiving the highest percentage of national vote and being third in power. The Judicial system is composed of Administrative Courts, Trial Courts, Provincial Superior Counts, and a Supreme Court. The court with the most judicial power is the Supreme Court, which has 30 Justices divided among ten chambers of three Justices each. The members unlike others political occupations are elected for a life term. Voting is constitutional right for Ecuadorian citizens from ages 18 to 65, but is optional to those 65 or older. These elections are organized by the Tribunal Supremo Electoral. This same court has the final word in all electoral matters.
There is a mixture of beautiful cultures in Ecuador that form one large culture attracting many tourists. The official language of Ecuador is Spanish, but there are many