Islamic Religion Essay

Submitted By claudiaflynn6
Words: 1332
Pages: 6

The monotheistic religious tradition, Islam, developed in the 7th century C.E in the Middle East. Islam literally means “surrender” or “submission” was found on the teaching of the Prophet Muhammad as an expression of surrender to the will of Allah, the creator of the World.

Abraham is who the Arab people claim their descent from. They do this through his handmaid Hagar, who fled to the Becca Valley with Ishmael their son. Muslims believe that their prophet is Muhammad and that 14 hundred years ago He received the revelation of God’s word. This was sent through the form of the Qur’an, the Holy Scripture of the Islamic Religion. The terms “Islam” and “Muslim” derive from the Arabic words, meaning “peace” and “submission” to the will of Allah. Allah is the Islamic God who is in fact, identical with Yahweh, from the Hebrew Bible as well as God the Father from Christianity. The Qur’an is spoken in 1st person from Allah, however Muslims also recognises the Hebrew Torah, the Psalms of David and the Gospels as other forms of Scripture. They also still respect Abraham, Moses, Isaac and Jesus as prophets. To be a Muslim, you are commanded to follow the will of Allah as emphasised in the Qur’an. The ‘Five Pillars’ or obligations that uphold the structure of Islam consists of professing the Oneness of God, to pray five times a day, every day, to fast during Ramada, to give compulsory charity and to make the pilgrimage to Meccas or the hajj at least once in one’s life.

Further information:
Muslim" means "anyone or anything that submits itself to the will of God".
There are five pillars of practice in Islam.
a. Shahadah - declaration of faith in the oneness of God and that Muhammad is the last prophet of God.
b. Formal prayer five times a day
c. Fasting during the daylight hours in the month of Ramada
d. Poor-due "tax" - 2.5% of one's savings given to the needy at the end of each year.
e. Pilgrimage to Mecca at least once, if physically and financially able.
There are six articles of faith in Islam. These are the basic beliefs that one must have in order to be considered a true Muslim. They are belief in:
a. The One God
b. All the prophets of God
c. The original scriptures revealed to Prophets Moses, David, Jesus, and Muhammad
d. The angel
e. The Day of Judgment and the Hereafter
f. The divine decree (or destiny).
To become Muslim, a person of any race or culture must say a simple statement, the shahadah, that bears witness to the belief in the One God and that Prophet Muhammad was the last prophet of God.
"Allah" is an Arabic word that means "God". Muslims also believe that "Allah" is the personal name of God.
The Islamic concept of God is that He is loving, merciful, and compassionate. But Islam also teaches that He is just and swift in punishment.
Muslims accept the original unaltered Torah and the original Bible since they were revealed by God.
Islam grants women numerous rights in the home and in society. They have the right to earn money, to financial support, to an education, to an inheritance, to being treated kindly, to vote, to a dowry, to keep their maiden name, to worship in a mosque.
This website is about the Islam religion, it states 30 detailed facts about religion. At the completion of reading the website readers know the basic aspects of the Islam Religion and have a thorough understanding of:
What Islam means
What Muslim means
The 5 pillars of practice in Islam
The six articles of faith
How to become a Muslim
Who Allah is
Their bible, the Torah
How the Islam religion was spread
Women’s rights in the Islam religion

It is believed that when a Muslim dies, there is an intermediate period where souls wait for resurrection. They then wait for a time where the present world ends. Allah will then call the souls and they will be brought to judgement before Allah. This process of judgement involves being rewarded for good and punished