Labeling: Anatomy and Organizational Approaches Paper

Submitted By nascarfan8
Words: 642
Pages: 3

Seven Organizational Approaches Paper
Dawn Ott
September 8, 2013
Yelena Krayter

Seven Organizational Approaches Paper
The seven organizational approaches to studying the human body include the following; body plans and directions, body cavities, quadrants and regions, anatomy and physiology, microscopic-to- macroscopic, body systems, and medical specialty. There are also body planes and body directions, this is the division of the body into sections from front to back, right and left, top to bottom. This is also done with the use of the coronal plane, sagittal plane, and also the transverse plane. This is in addition to any movement towards or away from these plans (Turley, S. 2011). This is also useful when reading a scan known as either a CAT scan or an MRI scan. By knowing what plane the image came from can help the doctor or radiologist diagnose certain conditions such as; kidney disease, cancer, and also blood clots.

The human body also consists of five body cavities they are as follows; cranial cavity, which is space enclosed by the bones of the cranium which contains the brain, cranial nerves and other structures. The spinal cavity, which is also a considered part of the cranial cavity and it, contains spinal nerves, the spinal cord and also other structures. The thoracic cavity is part of the ventral body cavity located between the neck and diaphragm and it contains the lungs. A smaller, central area called the mediastinum which is also located within the thoracic cavity contains the heart, esophagus and the trachea. The abdominal cavity is located between the diaphragm and pelvis and contains the abdominal organs. The last cavity is the pelvic cavity and this is the space within the walls of the pelvis (Dorland. 2011).

Quadrants and regions approach can be divided into four quadrants and nine regions, to better reference the internal organs of the body. This approach is also used as a reference guide while conducting a physical exam or knowing which area of the lower body to take an X-ray or even a CAT scan. The four different quadrants include: left upper, right upper, left lower, and right lower. The nine regions include; right and left hypochondriac, epigastric, left and right lumbar, umbilical, left and right inguinal and hypogastric region (Turley, 2011).

When it comes to the anatomy and physiology approach, this studies the structures and how the structures function in the body, you would use this approach when explain how a