Level 1 Unit 1 Essay

Submitted By JazziehLove
Words: 2931
Pages: 12

A statutory provision for a 5-7 year old is an infant class in County Primary school. This is funded by the government through taxes and rates.
Therefore it is free education for all children. It is law for children to attend school from ages 5 to 18 years old. The school will have qualified teachers and classroom assistants.
They also provide nutritious school meals or children can take a packed lunch. The curriculum that the children will follow at this age is The Foundation Phase which is for all children from the ages of 3 to 7 years. The Foundation Phase is delivered through play rather than children sitting at desks writing and doing worksheets. This will allow them to explore things for themselves and learn by doing.
The Foundation Phase consists of 7 areas of learning:
• Personal and social, well being, cultural diversity
• Physical development
• Creative development
• Language, Literacy and communication skills
• Welsh language development
• Mathematical development
• Knowledge and understanding of the world http://www.ncma.org.uk/childminders/foundation_phase.aspx An example of provision for children under 5 years would also be a state primary school. Where children can attend a nursery class for half a day free of charge. The nursery will have a qualified teacher and qualified nursery nurse. The children will also follow the Foundation Phase curriculum learning through play.

A different type of provision for under 5’s is a private day nursery. The Nursery will provide full time/ Part time care. Parents will pay a fee for their child to attend even if they are ill as the Nursery have already provided meals and planned for the child to be in, Sometimes it is also in the contract that you must pay for your planned attendance dates. All nurseries must have qualified trained staff in childcare or NVQ cache level 2 or 3. Activities and age and stage appropriate toys are provided for all the children. Babies up to 3 years have a curriculum based on development rather than learning where as children 3 to 5 will learn through play as in schools their curriculum will be The Foundation Phase curriculum. All nurseries must be registered with Care and Social Services Inspectorate of Wales which are also known as (CSSIW). The nurseries will have a certificate that will show the registration number and the number of the children that are allowed on the premises at any one time. (CSSIW) must inspect nurseries once a year. All policies and procedures are in place and must be followed in order to keep baby’s children and staff safe.

A different type of provision for 5 – 7 years is an after school club, this is a Voluntary provision. In 2009 schools were given funding to set up after school clubs. This was known as a ‘wrap around care’. Private nurseries were affected by this as their numbers dropped as after school clubs were cheaper. After school clubs must also be registered with (CSSIW). The local authority states the amount of children able to attend. This is 16 children allowed in one room at any one time. The children are provided with healthy savoury snacks such as fruit, lasagne, beans on toast, crackers etc and a drink. There will be safe and stimulating activities e.g. sports, painting, music for children to participate in. There will be a parent’s handbook available which will show the costs of sessions, types of activities and snacks
Which can be provided. It wills also show opening and closing times and general after school club regulations which must be adhered to.


A professional that works with children could be a Health Visitor. Health Visitors are registered nurses who usually have at least two years’ experience in nursing before undergoing their Health Visitor training. A Health Visitor’s job is to be there for the children and their parents to discuss the child’s developmental norms or any problems. Every family with children under five has a named health visitor.