Precedent Set By George Washington

Submitted By Millicent-Grant
Words: 305
Pages: 2

Millicent Grant
November 20, 2014
American History I
Professor Michael Rasak
"Precedents Set By George Washington"
George Washington had four cabinet members
1. Secretary of State: Thomas Jefferson
2. Secretary of Treasury: Alexander Hamilton
3. Secretary of War: Henry Knox
4. Attorney General: Randolph Edmund
There are 16 Cabinets members
1. Vice President: Joseph R. Biden
2. Department of State: Secretary John Kerry
3. Department of the Treasury: Secretary Jack Lew
4. Department of Defense: Secretary Chuck Hagel
5. Department of Justice: Attorney General Eric H. Holden, Jr.
6. Department of Interior: Secretary Sally Jewell
7. Department of Agriculture: Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack
8. Department of Commerce: Secretary Penny Pritzker
9. Department of Labor: Secretary Thomas E. Perez
10. Department of Housing and Urban Development: Secretary Julián Castro
11. Department of Transportation: Secretary Anthony Foxx
12. Secretary of Energy: Secretary Ernest Moniz
13. Department of Education: Secretary Arne Duncan
14. Department of Veterans of Affairs: Secretary Robert McDonald
15. Department of Homeland Security: Secretary Jen Johnson
16. Department of Health and Human Services: Secretary Sylvia Mathews Burwell

George Washington retired after 8 years in the White house and this set the precedent that presidents should only serve for two terms. While President Franklin D. Roosevelt broke this precedent by winning a third and fourth term, the precedent became law when Amendment