Music Report #4 Essay

Submitted By Jewfroway123
Words: 1187
Pages: 5

Music Report # 4
December 10, 2012

On December 11 of 2012, I had an opportunity to attend a concert by the Miami Dade College Wind symphony Orchestra. The MDC wind symphony orchestra was the only performance of the night sadly. And it performed "An Evening of Handel, Schubert, and Haydn" on 0ctober 4th. The concert was held at the school's Boss Recital room. The look of the architecture of the room is awesome with an organ at the back wall and various little intricate designs on the walls. Stepping into the room felt like stepping in the architecture's mind. The room was crowded as I had expected and on the stage was seated the orchestra. The orchestra also as usual consisted of many violinists, cellists, violists, brass players and percussionists. Also present were the trumpeters, harp players, oboe players, pianist, and a drummer. Every member of the orchestra was neatly dressed; men in black tuxedos and women in black dress or pants. The concert master come to the stage to tune the orchestra giving way to the conductor who came to the stage, introduced as well as gave a brief description of the music that was to be played.
The first symphony was the overture to Music for the royal Fireworks is a composition made during the Baroque era. Not only is its genre a suite but the music also poses a homophonic texture. It takes a range of instruments such as chordophone, aero phones and membranophones to create the piece. Wind instruments such as the bassoon, French horn, oboe and the trumpet could be heard clearly. The stringed instruments; violin, viola, double brass and the cell added to the tune which was punctuated by percussion instruments especially the timpani. The movement was broken down into 4 sections characterized by distinct tempos: Adagio, allegro, Lentamente, allegro. Adagio is a section that starts with a slow introduction at what is referred to as mezzo forte dynamic. The section is part of the major key set within the quadruple meter. The section has a varied range of ascending melody. There are some brief cadences as the section develops into a crescendo. In this section there is an aspect of loudness meant to capture the attention of the listener as well as make the mood pounding and joyous. The loudness and energy of this section holds the attention of the listener and creates a proud and joyful mood. The section gives way to the second section, allegro, which takes off at a messopiono dyname phase or level. The allegro is in triple meter, played in the major key and very conjunct in pace. The melody has an ascending shape as it moves in a crescendo. The fast tempo of this section creates an exciting and energetic mood. The Lentement section has a slow pace and is played in a minor key. It is homophonic and in duple meter. The tempo creates a smooth and relaxing mood. The section contains a decrescendo and is conjunct with a relatively narrow range. When the section comes to a close the allegro section is repeated.
The orchestra also played the Schubert's Symphony No. 8 in B minor. This Symphony was composed in the Romantic period. During its play, the instruments that were; outstanding were the oboe, flute, bassoon, and trombone all of the aero phone family; double bass, viola, violin and cello of the chordophone family. The tunes texture was nice and homophonic. The symphony is divided into only two parts or rather two movement, the Allegro moderato and Andante con moto. The allegro moderato take the form of sonata-allegro. Two themes were presents with the movement in a triple meter within the minor key. This part opens on a soft mostly piano dynamic level and develops in a crescendo. It is conjunct general with a narrow range which eventually widens at it expands at latter stages. The softness that characterizes the symphony at the start serves to form a dramatic environment full of emotion. Such a movement shows a recapitulation i.e. the restatement of the themes because two main