Essay on Review: The Da Vinci Code and Dan Brown

Submitted By adamstatham3
Words: 686
Pages: 3

Teenage Reviews
The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown
This book literally never ceases to amaze. I was enthralled reading this book. I read it cover to cover in a day and a half, give or take. The book follows mainly a man called Robert Langdon who is a religious symbolism expert from Harvard. He is called to the scene of a crime to find the meaning behind the symbols left at the scene, not knowing he is the main suspect of the crime. Agent Sophie Neveu fills him in on what he doesn’t know and he escapes. From then on, he follows the clues and the symbols left at the crime scene to find the motive and person behind the murder. The trail leads ultimately to the secrets of the Holy Grail. Regardless of whether or not everything is fact or fiction, this book is mind blowing, with a very exciting finale. *****
Angels and Demons – Dan Brown
This Dan Brown novel again follows Robert Langdon, this time in a desperate struggle of life and death against the Illuminati, who threaten to destroy the Vatican and the cardinals locked in conclave, with an extremely powerful and destructive new technology. Langdon and a new cohort of helpers have just 24 hours to find and eliminate the threat to the Vatican. Amazingly eye opening once again, with some truly jaw dropping moments too. *****
The Lost Symbol – Dan Brown
This time, Robert Langdon must face a threat to the Masons, from a member of the Masons themselves. Robert must decode the Masonic Pyramid, which reveals great wisdom to whoever finds it, in order to save his friends. From a CIA officer who seems to know too much, to the Architect who inadvertently aids the enemy, this book, like its predecessors, is full of thrill and excitement and uncovers the Masonic history of Washington DC. One thing I must say: the ending is dragged out, and in my opinion, a big let-down. ****
Inferno – Dan Brown

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins
This is one of my favourite books of all time, if not my most favourite, and is set in a dystopian, futuristic American society, now called Panem which is split into 12 districts and a Capitol. 74 years ago, Rebellion plagued Panem, and the thirteenth district was destroyed. In “Penance for their uprising” the remaining 12 districts have to reap one boy and girl between the ages of 12 and 18 to take part in the Hunger Games, a fight to the death, once a year. The victor is showered with gifts and their district receives extra supplies. The book follows the story of Katnis Everdeen who volunteers for her sister and her struggle not only in the games but her feelings towards her male counterpart, Peeta Mellark,