Teleological and Deontological Ethical Systems Essay

Words: 928
Pages: 4

Abstract There are similarities and differences in deontological and teleological ethical systems. Each of the ethical systems will be discussed in a compare and contrast so that they are made clear to what they mean. There are seven major ethical systems that are either deontological systems or they are teleological systems.

Teleological and Deontological Ethical Systems

When looking at two separate definitions and trying to tell the differences between the two there will also be similarities that come out. There are differences and similarities between the deontological and teleological ethical systems. Ethical formalism is a deontological
…show more content…
The answer that the ethics of virtue came up with is that people must do good things in order to be good people. It is a teleological system because the end result would be better for everyone. The Ethics of Care is based on human needs and their relationships. An example is people tend to look at children and sick people and have this urge and need to take care of them. This would be a teleological system because it also results in a good end for everyone. The last ethical system is Egoism. Egoism is where what is good for a person’s survival and happiness is moral. An example of this would be that every person can do whatever they need to do to make themselves happy. I believe this to also be a deontological system because some of the outcomes even if intended to be good come out to be bad. Al l in all, I believe that the ethical system that most closely relates to me would be religion because I use my religion as a base to what is right and wrong and how others should be treated. The seven ethical systems are different and alike in many ways especially those of the teleological and deontological ethical systems. They both believe in good acts it’s just how a person gets there that makes the two ethical systems different. There are five other major ethical systems besides teleological and deontological. Those other five major ethical systems are religion, natural law, the ethics of virtue, the ethics of care and egoism. Each ethical system has been discussed