Three Branches Of Government Essay examples

Submitted By ccastillo103
Words: 741
Pages: 3

The constitution was established by men who had experienced the dictatorship of
Europe. They created a foundation of what our government is today they created a system where three branches were all equal power and each could be overruled by another. That prevented any branch becoming superior of another. Also, with this separation of powers it provides a system of shared power called Checks and Balances. The three branches of are government are Legislative, Executive, and Judicial. They each have specific powers to keep in balance those of other branches. The Legislative branch is made up of the
House of Representatives and Senate. The Executive branch is made of the President, 3
Vice­President and the Departments. The Judicial branch is made of the Federal courts and the Supreme Court. Each of these branches holds certain powers, and each of these powers are limited, or checked, by the other two branches.
The Legislative Branch, also known as the Congress, is made up of houses and the main job of those houses is to make the laws of the nation. Another responsibility is to check the actions of the other two branches. The two houses that make up the legislative branch are, the House of Representatives, and the Senate. The Senate is composed of 100 senators, two for each state. Each senator is elected for a six­year term by the people of each state. Senators must be 30 years of age, U.S. citizens for at least nine years, and residents of the state they are going to represent. The President of the
Senate and can the final vote in the event of a tie in the Senate, is the Vice­President. The
Senate has the only power to confirm the President’s appointments that need consent, and

approve treaties.However, there are two expectations to this rule: the House must also approve appointments to the Vice Presidency and anything that has to do with foreign trade. The House of Representatives consists of 435 elected members. Members of the
House are elected every two years and must be 25 years­old, a U.S. citizen for at least seven years, and a resident of the state. The House of Representative has the power to introduce bills, denounce federal officials, and elect the President in the case of a tie.
Also, the Speaker of the House is elected by the Representatives.
The President of the United States has the power of the Executive Branch. The
President is the head of state and commander­in­Chief of the armed forces. Also, the
President is in charge of enforcing the laws written by Congress. The Vice­President also has a part in the Executive Branch. The Executive Branch consists of independently elected officers. For example, the Governor, Treasurer, and Attorney General. They each are elected for a four­year term, and the Governor’s Council are elected for a two­year term. Also, the Executive branch has the power to