What Is The Structure Of Education From Early Years To Post Compulsory Education

Submitted By kel5loom
Words: 5454
Pages: 22

Claudette Tonner

Unit 1
1. Know the structure of education from early years to post-compulsory education
A. Summarise entitlement and provision for early years.
The entitlement for early year’s education is that every three and four year olds are entitled to free education in an Ofsted inspected setting as part of the childcare act 2006. The funding is available for 15 hours per week, over 38 weeks of the year over 2 years, free places are available in a number of setting including school nurseries, child minders and private day nurseries, all the funded by the local government.
The early years provision is very different to KS1 and KS2 in a primary setting, the EYFS (early years foundation stage) teaching is based on the learning through play scheme rather than a formal way of learning they will start once in KS1, the child initiated learning covers some of these areas by the child learning through games. Here are some of the areas they cover:
Physical development
Communication and language
Personal, social and emotional development

B. Explain the characteristics of the different types of schools in relation to education stages and school governance.
Community schools
These types of schools are run by local authority’s, which employ their own staff, own their own land, and sets its own entrance requirements. The local authority has primary responsibility for admissions.
Voluntary schools
There are 2 types of voluntary schools one being voluntary aided; this is mainly faith schools religious, these are run by their own governing bodies, usually religious organisations. The land and building are usually owned partly by governing bodies and partly by charity.
The other voluntary school is called voluntary controlled, which is very similar to voluntary aided but run by and funded by local authority's, which then employs their own staff. The building and land would usually still be owned by the religious organisations.

Foundation and trust schools
These are local authority maintained schools; they employ their own staff and are supported by external partners. They also set their own admissions policy and own the land and building; they are required to teach the national curriculum and are inspected by OFSTED.
Specialist schools
These are usually secondary school as the government tries to encourage schools in England to specialise in certain areas of curriculum in order to boost achievement, they then will be given a specialist status for one or two subjects i.e. art, music, sport and drama. Around 92% of schools in England know have a specialist school status, schools can also apply for specialist status under the SEN specialism.
Independent school
These types of schools are privately run, and paid for in fees from parents, sponsors, investors and charity’s. These types of schools do not have to follow the national curriculum, the governors and teachers decide on the way admissions are run, they will be inspected on a regular basis but it may not be OFSTED but ISI (independent schools inspectorate). There are approximately 2300 independent schools in the UK.
Academies are public funded independent schools, these schools get their money direct from government to governors and not local authority. Academies don’t have to follow the national curriculum but do have close links with the local education authority, and can set their own terms and hours. They still have to follow the same rules on admissions and special educational needs as local authorities.

C. Post-16 options for young people and adults.
The post-16 options is a way of giving opportunity’s to young people and adults to stay on at school, and further there studies or to leave school and start employment, which then could be part study part work. In September 2007 it was extended to age 17, so all 17 year olds will have the opportunity to extend their