unit 5 Essay

Submitted By shannonloulou
Words: 442
Pages: 2

Unit 5 – Safeguarding
Define the following types of abuse:
-Physical abuse- is an act of another party involving contact intended to cause feelings of physical pain, injury, or other physical suffering or bodily harm. Physical abuse has been described among animals too. Children are the victims of physical abuse, but adults can be the sufferers too. - Sexual abuse- is any sort of non-consensual sexual contact, sexual abuse can happen to men or women or any age, sexual abuse by a partner/intimate can include derogatory name calling refusal, refusal to use contraception, deliberately causing unwanted physical pain during sex, deliberately passing on sexual diseases or infections and using objects, toys, or other items (e.g. baby oil or lubricants) without consent and to cause pain or humiliation.
-Emotional/psychological abuse- Emotional abuse is also known as psychological abuse or as "chronic verbal aggression" by researchers. People who suffer from emotional abuse tend to have very low self-esteem; show personality changes (such as becoming withdrawn) and may even become depressed, anxious or suicidal.
-Financial abuse- Financial abuse can be very subtle telling you what you can and cannot buy or requiring you to share control of your bank accounts. At no point does someone you are dating have the right to use money or how you spend it to control you.
-Institutional abuse- is any kind of neglectful or abusive conduct, whether physical, sexual, or otherwise, that affects someone who is confined to an inpatient care facility. The most common victims are children, the elderly, adults with developmental disabilities, and people with mental illnesses. It typically occurs in hospitals, assisted living situations and group homes, many of these institutions have policies in place to prevent institutions have policies in place