SAT Subject Tests

The SAT Subject Tests are a series of one-hour multiple-choice tests in subjects including

  • Literature,
  • History,
  • Physics,
  • Chemistry,
  • Biology,
  • Mathematics
  • and a number of languages.

(These tests used to be called SAT II, and even earlier they were called Achievement tests).

Who should take the SAT subject tests?

Not all colleges require students to sit for these tests and of those that do some require students to take two subjects and some require three. Some courses have specific requirements (for example, students might be asked for Mathematics Level 2 and Physics if they are applying for Engineering). Always check the specific requirements from the college website.

A student can sit for up to three subject tests on the same day. It is not possible to sit for the SAT Reasoning Test and SAT Subject Tests on the same day.

In many ways these tests are more straightforward than the Reasoning Test: they are based directly on the high school curriculum and the questions are not tricky.

For more details visit the College Board website.

* SAT is a registered trademark of the College Board, which was not involved in the production of, and does not endorse, this product.

All content of site and practice tests copyright © 2024